Add Comments and View Comment History

Why would you add comments to your workflow?

Comments on the workflow page are a way for users to communicate and give guidance to their corresponding Workflow Group, or assignee, who will be approving, rejecting or continuing the assessment. 

For example, the approver may send back the assessment and comment to specify the section that needs to be revised. A comment history is also logged for visibility of previously shared comments.

Note: The comment history is unique to each Workflow block. That is, in the assessment page of the second Workflow block, you will not be able to view the comment history of the first Workflow block. 

 

Adding comments when sending a section for approval

  1. When submitting a section of an assessment to an approver, the user can add comments.

    Here, the user comments “Please refer to Julia for clarifications on my answers” to help the approver know who to contact if they require clarifications.

    10.1.png

  2. The previous comment by the user is stored in the Comment History section for the approver to view. The approver can also add comments to reply to previous comments, before approving or sending the assessment back for resubmission.

    Here, the approver comments “Julia has answered all of my concerns. Thank you” and proceeds to approve the assessment.

    11.png


  3. The initial user receives the approved assessment back. Before the user continues to complete the next section of the assessment, the user can see the approver’s reply in the Comment History.

    Here, the comment history contains the comments exchanged in steps 1 and 2 above.

    12.png



    Adding comments when assigning a section to another user

    1. When assigning the next section of an assessment for another user to complete, comments can be added.

      Here, the user comments “Please speak to James for more information on my answers” to help the approver know who to contact for more information.

      13.png


    2. The previous comment by the user is stored in the Comment History section for the next user to view. The approver can add their own comments to reply to the previous comment, before continuing the assessment.

      Here, the next user comments “James provided useful clarification and I am now ready to continue with the assessment” and proceeds to continue the assessment.

      14.png

     


    Related Articles