Multi-User Assessment

Why would you create a multi-user assessment?

Multi-User workflows allow multiple users to complete assigned sub-sections of the assessment, in order to complete the entire assessment. That is, once the end-user completes their section of the assessment, they then assign and hand over the next section to another user to complete. For example, a person using Checkbox needs to assess a potential privacy breach and wants to capture all relevant information before escalating it to the Compliance team, who will use Checkbox for further risk assessments of the reported privacy breach.

Why else? Apart from creating complex multi-stage workflows, multi-user assessments also allow for more sophisticated Approval/Rejection workflow. Approval Workflows (link back to section 6) are useful when users need a quick Yes/No from a reviewer, however it doesn’t allow the reviewer to:

  • answer any additional questions associated with their decision (e.g. pick from pre-selected categories on why they are rejecting, or answer predefined questions that allow them to assess the quality of the submission)
  • upload documents (e.g. if they need to provide the submitter with additional reference documents - like internal policies)
  • re-assign assessments to other users in their team for further review or delegation (can be done using the User Picker)

All of the above is possible with multi-user workflow.


Who can be assigned as the next users to complete the assessment?

The users that can be assigned the workflow can either be defined by a Workflow Group (default) or a User Picker variable.

 

How to assign the next user in a workflow

    1. Inside your App’s Studio, click onto a Workflow page


    2. In the Property Editor in the right panel, click “Assign to User”

      28.png


    3. Assign the next user either by Workflow Group or User Variable

      a. If you want to assign the next section of the assessment to a Workflow Group, select the “Workflow group” option and select the respective Workflow Group. Learn how to set up Workflow Groups.

      Note:
      The Workflow Group option is selected by default when you select “Assign to User”.

      29.png

      OR

      b. If you wish to assign to a specific user, select the “User variable” option and enter the respective User Picker variable. Learn more about the User Picker.

      Note: No curly brackets are necessary for this field.
      I.e. Correct - USER12; Incorrect - {{USER12}}

      30.png


    4. Customise your multi-user assessment with the options provided. See below for details.

      31.png


      a. Do not require confirmation: checking this option will remove the end-user’s submission page and the next assigned Workflow Group or user’s starting page. Learn more on the end-user perspective.

      b. 
      Next user can review answers: this option is used when you have more than one Workflow block in your assessment and want to specify permissions to Workflow Groups to view and approve all or parts of the assessment.

      • If checked, the Workflow Group or user selected can only view answers between that particular Workflow block and the previous Workflow. See example below.

        32.png


      • Also, you will notice that if “Next user can review answers” is checked, an additional option, “Next user can view all previous answers” will show. If this new option is checked, the Workflow Group or user selected can view all previous answers since the beginning of an assessment. See example below.

        33.png


      • If unchecked, the submission page for the end-user and the starting page for the assigned Workflow Group or user will be removed from the assessment.


        c. Disable workflow notification emails: this option is universal to all Workflow blocks and disables all workflow notification emails. Learn more on turning off workflow emails.

Related Articles