Customise End of Workflow Message

Applicable to 'Assign to User' workflows ONLY

Note that you must be using the 'Assign to User' workflow type to customise the End of Workflow Message. Learn more about 'Assign to User' workflows here.

This functionality is currently not supported in Parallel workflows, or 'Send for Approval' type workflows.

SKIP AHEAD TO
What is an End of Workflow Message?
Why do I need to customise these messages?
How to customise End of Workflow Messages
How to preview End of Workflow Messages


What is an End of Workflow Message?

End of Workflow Messages are static pages displayed to the end-user of an app after a workflow block is completed. 

mceclip0.png

There are two types of messages that can be displayed:

  1. Success Message: What is shown to the end user using Checkbox before the workflow block is hit.

    The default message for this case is "Thank you for your responses. Please check your email for further notifications"

    1. For example, John starts a new legal request to have his NDA reviewed. After filling in the relevant forms, he clicks 'Submit', which ends his workflow and automatically passes the NDA to the legal team for review. At this point, John is shown a success message, indicating his request has gone through.

  2. Error Message: Shown in all other cases, including:
    1. When the assessment was assigned to a workflow group, and someone in the workflow group has already picked it up
    2. When a previous user of the assessment tries to access the URL
    3. When an unauthorised user (someone who never had access to the assessment) tries to access the URL

      The default error message is "You do not have permission to access this assessment"

 

Why do I need to customise these messages?

Customising these messages allows you to provide additional context and supporting information to users to guide them on what has happened. This makes sure the user knows what to do next, or how to troubleshoot any issues they might be having in the case of an error.

Some common customisations to the messages include:

Success Messages

  1. Letting the user know they are free to close the tab/window
  2. Advising what steps are next in the process
  3. Letting the user know who the matter/assessment has progressed to
  4. Providing a contact person in case the user has any further questions

Error Messages

  1. Explaining who currently owns the assessment (and therefore is the only one who can access it)
  2. Explaining where the assessment is up to in terms of approvals (if relevant)
  3. Providing a contact person in case the user has any further questions
  4. Explaining common reasons why the user may be unable to access the assessment

TIP: throwing in a logo, image or a splash of colour is always welcome to help users more easily interpret what has happened in the assessment.

How to customise End of Workflow Messages:

  1. Click on the Workflow block where you want to customise the message.
    mceclip1.png

  2. Ensure that your Workflow block is set to 'Assign to User', then in the bottom right of the Property Editor, click on 'End Page Builder'.
    mceclip2.png


  3. Select the message type you want to work on. Your selection will be highlighted in gray. 
    mceclip3.png


  4. Customise the message. End of Workflow messages support custom static text (including emojis 😉) and dynamic referencing of variables including meta variables.
    mceclip4.png

  5. Once satisfied, select the ‘Close’ button to exit the email builder.

How to preview End of Workflow Messages:

Previewing End of Workflow messages will allow you to see the success/error message as it will appear for your app user, and make any quick adjustments to the design as required.

 

To preview your End of Workflow message:

  1. Click on the Workflow block where you customised the message you'd like to preview
    mceclip1.png

  2. Click on 'End Page Builder' in the property editor
    mceclip2.png

  3. Select the correct message type (success or error). Your selection will be highlighted in gray.
    mceclip3.png

  4. In the top right hand corner, click 'Preview Message'. This will open your preview in a new tab.
    mceclip5.png
    mceclip7.png
  5. Return to your studio tab to make any further modifications.
    mceclip8.png

  6. In the preview tab, use the 'Refresh preview' button to update the preview with your latest changes.
    mceclip9.png